DEPOSITOR INFORMATION SHEET



Basic information about the protection of deposit	
Deposits in APS Bank plc are protected by:	The Depositor Compensation Scheme ¹ , established under regulation 4 of the Depositor Compensation Scheme Regulations, 2015
Limit of protection:	EUR 100,000 per depositor per credit institution ²
If you have more deposits at the same credit institution:	All your deposits at the same credit institution are "aggregated" and the total is subject to the limit of EUR 100,000
If you have a joint account with other person(s):	The limit of EUR 100,000 applies to each depositor separately ³
Reimbursement period in case of credit institution's failure:	10 working days⁴
Currency of reimbursement:	Euro
Contact:	Depositor Compensation Scheme, c/o Malta Financial Services Authority Triq I-Imdina, Zone 1 Central Business District Birkirkara, CBD 1010 Tel: (+356) 2144 1155 E-mail: info@compensationschemes.org.mt
More information:	www.compensationschemes.org.mt

¹Scheme responsible for the protection of your deposit

Your deposit is covered by a statutory Deposit Guarantee Scheme. If insolvency of your credit institution should occur, your deposits would in any case be repaid up to EUR 100,000.

² General limit of protection

If a deposit is unavailable because a credit institution is unable to meet its financial obligations, depositors are repaid by the Depositor Compensation Scheme, in accordance with the Regulations. This repayment covers a maximum of EUR 100,000 per credit institution. This means that all deposits at the same credit institution are added up in order to determine the coverage level. If, for instance, a depositor holds a savings account with EUR 90,000 and a current account with EUR 20,000, he or she will only be repaid EUR 100,000.

In addition to the protection described above, deposits may be protected in some cases up to a maximum of EUR 500,000 for six months after the amount has been credited or from the moment when such deposits become legally transferrable. In order to qualify for such higher protection, a deposit in excess of EUR 100,000 must meet any one of the following additional criteria:

- A it comprises:
 - monies deposited in preparation for the purchase of a private residential property by the depositor; or
 monies which represent the proceeds of sale of a private residential property of the depositor; or
- B it comprises sums paid to the depositor in respect of:
 - i a separation, divorce or dissolution of their civil union; or
 - ii benefits payable on retirement; or
 - iii a claim for compensation for unfair dismissal; or
 - iv a claim for compensation for redundancy; or
 - v benefits payable for death or bodily injury; or
 - vi a claim for compensation for wrongful conviction.

More information can be obtained from <u>www.compensationschemes.org.mt</u>

³ Limit of protection for joint accounts

In case of joint accounts, the limit of EUR 100,000 applies to each depositor. However, deposits in an account to which two or more persons are entitled as members of a business partnership, association or grouping of a similar nature, without legal personality, are aggregated and treated as if made by a single depositor for the purpose of calculating the limit of EUR 100,000.

⁴ Reimbursement

The responsible Deposit Guarantee Scheme is the Depositor Compensation Scheme, c/o Malta Financial Services Authority, Triq I-Imdina, Zone 1, Central Business District, Birkirkara CBD 1010, Malta; Tel: (+356) 2144 1155; E-mail: info@compensationschemes.org.mt.

It will repay your deposits up to EUR 100,000 within 10 working days from 1 January 2021 until 31 December 2023; and within

7 working days from 1 January 2024 onwards.

Until 31 December 2023, where the Depositor Compensation Scheme cannot make the repayable amount(s) available within 7 working days, depositors shall have access to an amount, equivalent to three times the gross weekly minimum wage on the compensation date to cover the cost of living, within 5 working days of a request from the depositor. The Depositor Compensation Scheme shall only grant access to such amount within five workings days on the basis of data provided by the credit institution. Such amount shall be deducted from the compensation which may be payable.

If you have not been repaid within these deadlines, you should make contact with the Depositor Compensation Scheme since the time to claim reimbursement may be barred after a certain time limit. Further information can be obtained from <u>www.compensationschemes.org.mt</u>.

Other important information

In general, all retail depositors and businesses are covered by the Depositor Compensation Scheme. Exceptions for certain deposits are stated on the website of the Depositor Compensation Scheme. Your credit institution will also inform you on request whether certain products are covered or not. If deposits are covered, the credit institution shall also confirm this on the statement of account.

A deposit is excluded from protection under the Depositor Compensation Scheme if:

- A The deposit arises out of transactions in connection with which there has been a criminal conviction for money laundering.
- B The holder and any beneficial owner of the deposit has never been identified in accordance with prevention of money laundering requirements at the compensation date.
- C It is a deposit made by a depositor which is one of the following:
 - Deposits made by other Credit institution on their own behalf and for their own account
 - Own Funds of the Bank
 - Deposits by financial institution
 - Deposits by investment firm
 - Deposits by insurance undertaking and by reinsurance undertakings
 - Deposits by collective investment undertaking
 - Deposits by pension or retirement fund
 - Deposits by public authority
 - Funds received in exchange for electronic money
- D It consists of debt securities issued by a credit institution and liabilities arising out of own acceptances and promissory notes.
- E The deposit is held with a credit institution participating in the Depositor Compensation Scheme but in a branch of that credit institution which is located in a non-European Economic Area Member.⁵

⁵'EEA' stands for the European Economic Area which currently comprises the 27 EU Member States (i.e. Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic. Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain & Sweden) plus, Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway.